Related topics

Engineers Named Inventors of the Year

May 10, 1990

WASHINGTON (AP) _ The Inventor of the Year Award for 1990 is being shared by three engineers who developed an electronic automobile transmission.

Maurice B. Leising, Howard L. Benford and Gerald L. Holbrook were named winners today by Intellectual Property Owners Inc., which sponsors the annual honor. IPO is an association representing holders of patents, copyrights and trademarks.

The three engineers, who will split the $5,000 award, work for the Chrysler Corp. The transmission they developed, which has one-third fewer parts than normal automatic transmissions, was first made available on 1989 model cars.

The men were also winners of the Henry Ford II Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers earlier this year.

In addition to the inventors of the year, the group named four other Distinguished Inventors of 1990.

They are:

-David H. Gelfand and Susanne Stoffel of the Cetus Corp., in Emeryville, Calif., who developed a genetically engineered enzyme used in diagnosis of AIDS and sickle cell anemia.

-Marinus Los of American Cyanamid Corp. in Princeton, N.J., for a new type of safer herbicide.

-Barnett Rosenberg of Michigan State University for Carboplatin, an anticancer agent.

Update hourly