Related topics

Iran Official Attackers Sentenced

January 17, 1999

TEHRAN, Iran (AP) _ Three men who assaulted an Iranian vice president and a Cabinet minister were sentenced to lashings and prison terms on Saturday, Iran’s official news agency reported.

A Tehran court sentenced Amir Farshad Ebrahimi to two years in prison and 50 lashes. Kiyanoush Mozaffari and Seyed Babak Shahrestani were each sentenced to six months in prison and 30 lashes, the Islamic Republic News Agency reported.

The men were convicted of assaulting Vice President Abdollah Nouri and Culture and Islamic Guidance Minister Ataollah Mohajerani as they walked away from Friday prayers in Tehran in September.

The men, who are in their early 20s, have told newspapers that they belonged to the vigilante group, Ansar-e-Hezbollah, which is allied to hard-liners in the government. But the group has denied this.

Update hourly