Related topics

Philander returns for South Africa’s NZ, Aus tours

September 30, 2014

DURBAN, South Africa (AP) — Seam bowler Vernon Philander returned from injury to be included on Tuesday in South Africa’s one-day international squad for series in New Zealand and Australia, while batsman JP Duminy will captain the Twenty20 team for the first time.

Philander missed South Africa’s victory in the recent tri-series with Australia and Zimbabwe. His return meant Mthokozisi Shezi dropped out of the ODI squad in the only change.

Duminy got his first opportunity as an international captain when he replaced Faf du Plessis as skipper in the T20 squad. South Africa opted to rest senior players Du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla and Dale Steyn for the T20s to keep them focused on ODIs.

The form of the 50-over team — which is near full-strength for the tours — will be more pressing for South Africa ahead of the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand in February and March. South Africa has never won the title, a source of immense frustration for the country’s cricket followers.

South Africa plays three ODIs in New Zealand in late October, and three T20s and five ODIs in Australia in November.

Head selector Andrew Hudson noted the Proteas had 13 ODI games left to prepare before heading to the World Cup. South Africa will also host West Indies in a five-game series in January.

Uncapped trio Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw and Kagiso Rabada were called up for the T20s, and fast bowler Marchant de Lange has a chance to play his first T20 in over two years after recovering from a string of injuries.


South Africa:

ODI: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.

T20: JP Duminy (captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, David Wiese.

Update hourly