Related topics

Van Dyk, McFadden win Boston wheelchair races

April 21, 2014

BOSTON (AP) — Ernst van Dyk of South Africa won the men’s wheelchair division of the Boston Marathon for a record 10th time, and Tatyana McFadden of the United States won the women’s race for a second straight year on Monday.

Van Dyk holds the record for most all-categories Boston Marathon wins. This was his first win at this race since 2010.

The 41-year-old Van Dyk crossed the finish line 38 seconds ahead of two Japanese racers. Kota Hokinoue finished less than a wheel length ahead of Masazumi Soejima.

McFadden celebrated her 25th birthday and listened as “The Star-Spangled Banner” played on Boylston Street one year after the bombings that left three dead and more than 260 injured.

McFadden was born in Russia and lived in an orphanage as a child. She also won the 2013 New York City Marathon women’s wheelchair race after taking the titles in Boston, London and Chicago last year.

No other athlete has won those four races in the same year.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.