8 run for 1 Mississippi House seat, 4 run for another

September 19, 2018

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — State election commissioners have certified candidates to run for two empty seats in the Mississippi House.

Nonpartisan special elections are Nov. 6 and runoffs are Nov. 27.

One race is in District 31 in Bolivar, Humphreys, Sunflower and Washington counties. Democratic Rep. Sarah Richardson Thomas of Indianola retired in June after 21 years of service.

Candidates are Otis L. Anthony, Barbara Rose Brooks, Shannon D. Brown, B.C. Hammond, Carolyn Steele Johnson, Jeanette Knighten-Washington, Ada M. Lindsey and Charles Modley.

The other race is in District 85 in Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson and Warren counties. Democratic Rep. America Chuck Middleton of Port Gibson stepped down in August after nearly 23 years in office.

Candidates are JoAnn Collins-Smith, Tyler K. Doss, Jeffery Harness and Maurice Hudson.

Winners will serve until January 2020.

Update hourly