Related topics

4x champ NZ draw US in Women’s RWC pool in 2014

October 30, 2013

PARIS (AP) — New Zealand’s bid for a fifth successive Women’s Rugby World Cup title next year will begin with first-time matchups against Six Nations holder Ireland and Kazakhstan and a first match with the United States in 10 years.

The draw on Wednesday pit all four in Pool B.

In their last World Cup meeting, New Zealand’s Black Ferns beat the American Eagles in the 1998 final in Amsterdam to begin their tournament domination.

England, runner-up in the last three World Cups, drew Nations Cup champion Canada, Spain and Samoa, while Pool C features host France plus Australia, Wales and South Africa.

The tournament runs from Aug. 1-17 in and around Paris.

Update hourly