Bay Area cities to stage elections for council, mayor seats

March 25, 2019

Various Bay Area municipalities are staging elections for mayoral and council seats on May 4.

El Lago

Two at-large council seats — positions 1 and 2 — are up for re-election. Position 1 incumbent Jeff Tave faces Shawn Findley, and Position 2 incumbent Jeff Michalak is vying against Katie Richey. Mayor John Skelton faces no opposition.

La Porte

Voters in La Porte will consider council candidates for three-year terms for at-large Position A and districts 4 and 5. Incumbent John Zemanek is challenged by Brandon Lunsford for at-large Position A. Candidates Thomas Garza and Marc Clarke will face off for District 4. District 5 council member Jay Martin is running against Chuck Rosa.


Seats for mayor and council positions 2 and 4 are open for election. Mayor Carl Joiner will vie against Terri Gale. Position 4 incumbent Robin Collins is running against Joseph Wilson. Position 2 incumbent Wanda Zimmer is unopposed.


Incumbents in Webster council positions 3, 4 and 5 are running unopposed for three-year terms. Lawrence Tosto serves in Position 3, Beverly Gaines in Position 4 and Edward Lapeyre in Position 5.


· Dickinson council Positions 2, 4 and 6 will be on the May ballot this election. Position 2 incumbent Bruce Henderson faces challengers Kevin Edmonds and Sean Skipworth. Position 6 incumbent William H. King, III is vying against H. Scott Apley. Position 4 is held by Wally Deats, who is unopposed.