Related topics

Argentina team to join Japan in 2016 Super Rugby

November 20, 2014

SYDNEY (AP) — Argentina will join Japan in Super Rugby from 2016 to create an 18-team league divided into two regional groups.

Japan was chosen in October, but it and Argentina were formally confirmed by tournament controller SANZAR at an executive committee meeting in London.

The decision means Tokyo and Buenos Aires-based franchises will start contracting players and staff ahead of their entry into the southern hemisphere tournament in just over 12 months.

Plans are for the competition to be divided into the Australasian Group (five teams each from New Zealand and Australia, split into two conferences), and the two-conference South African Group (six from South Africa and the new Japan and Argentina sides).

Update hourly