A look at Wimbledon, the year's third Grand Slam tennis tournament:

Surface: Grass courts.

Site: The All England Lawn Tennis Club.

Schedule: Play begins Monday; an extra week was added between the French Open and Wimbledon this year. The women's singles final is July 11; the men's singles final is July 12. There are no matches scheduled for the two-week tournament's middle Sunday, July 5.

2014 Men's Singles Champion: Novak Djokovic of Serbia.

2014 Women's Singles Champion: Petra Kvitova of Czech Republic.

Last Year: Djokovic earned his second Wimbledon title by edging seven-time champion Roger Federer 6-7 (7), 6-4, 7-6 (4), 5-7, 6-4. Kvitova also earned her second trophy at the All England Club — like Djokovic, she won her first in 2011, too — by overwhelming Eugenie Bouchard 6-3, 6-0.

Key Statistic I: 21 — Consecutive Grand Slam matches won by Serena Williams, who will be trying to win her fourth major title in a row.

Key Statistic II: 12 — Consecutive Wimbledon titles won by the "Big 4" of men's tennis: Federer, Djokovic, Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal; Lleyton Hewitt, who'll be participating in his final Wimbledon before retirement, was the last man outside of that quartet to win the championship, back in 2002.

Prize Money: Total is 26.75 million pounds (about $42.3 million), with 1.88 million pounds (nearly $3 million) each to the men's and women's singles champions.

Online: http://www.wimbledon.org