Related topics

Seattle Station Wins Two Champion-Tuck Awards

June 3, 1986

NEW YORK (AP) _ Two documentaries done by a Seattle television station on the changing economy of Washington state and the Northwest shared a first prize in the Champion-Tuck awards program for business and economic journalism.

News people at KING-TV won the top prize in the category covering the nation’s 25 largest television markets.

Steve Dowd and George Snyder were cited for a program that described the decline of the Northwest’s timber industry and its effect on lumber workers and their families.

Bill Berg, Aaron Brown, Kasey Conley, Richard DePartee, Dowd, Jean Enersen, Barbara Fenster, Bill Fenster, Todd Garretson, Linda Gist, Leo Green, Reiko Higashi, Ken Jones, Pam Kilborn, Laddy Kite, Scott LaPlante, Mark Mano, Vi Marsh, Kelly Pierce, Ruth Pumphrey, Mike Reed, Snyder, George Stark, Lorenzo Townsend, Don Varyu, Ed White, David Wike, Diana Wilmar and Lisa Yeakel won for a documentary that explored the changes of the Washington state economy as it faces a shift from a product-based to a services-oriented environment.

The awards program was set up in 1977 by Champion International Corp. and administered by the Amos Tuck School of Business Administration at Dartmouth College, one of the oldest graduate business schools in the country.

Winners were selected by a panel of independent judges representing the news media, business, labor and education.

Other broadcast winners for 1985 were:

-For network and syndicated television programs: Steve Delaney, Reuven Frank, Janet Janjigian, Todd Norbitz and Peter Poor of NBC News won for a documentary that examined the power of pension funds and their role as the nation’s most important source of investment capital.

-For television markets ranked 26th through 100th: Carol Anderson, Fred Gent, Don Jackson, Kenn Sparks, Steve Willson of WYFF-TV, Greenville, S.C., won for a piece that discussed the problems facing the U.S. texitile industry due to foreign competition, contrasting domestic plants with those of Taiwan and Hongkong.

-For television markets ranked 101st and smaller: Pat Milligan of WINK-TV, Fort Myers, Fla., for a five-part series exploring the growing crisis of Florida’s fishing industry due to shoreline condominium developments.

-For radio network and syndicated programs: Gary Covino and John McChesney of National Public Radio, Washington, won for a series that examined the theories behind and resulting consequences of efforts to cut hospital costs.

-For radio programs in the top 50 markets: Bob Hardy and Kent Martin of KMOX Radio, St. Louis, won for a four-part series that looked at the agricultural crisis and the impact on the regional economy.

-For radio programs in markets ranked 51st and smaller: Jyl Hoyt of KUFM- KGPR at the University of Montana, Missoula, Mont., won for a documentary that profiled a town’s relationship to the oil and gas industry.

In print journalism, first prizes went to:

-For newspapers with circulations over 250,000: free-lance writer Ken Auletta won for his two-part series in the New York Times Magazine examining a power struggle among the top executives of the Lehman Brothers investment banking firm that ultimately resulted in the firm being absorbed by American Express Co.

-For newspapers with circulation from 75,000 to 250,000: Steve Harper and Bob von Sternberg won for a group of articles in the Wichita (Kan.) Eagle- Beacon that dealt with the social and economic woes facing a rural community due to the nationwide agricultural crisis.

-For newspapers with circulation from 10,000 to 75,000: Chuck Clark, Bob Gustin, David Hulen, Bob Matyi, Rod Spaw, Larry Thomas and Kathleen Wagner won for a five-part series in the Evansville (Ind.) Courier that explored the downfall of the Big Rivers Electric Corp. of Kentucky and how it affected consumers.

-For newspapers with circulation under 10,000: Art Cullen, Carol Gales, Hilary Kapfer, Molly MacDonald, Thomas Wallace won for a 12-part series published by Algona Publishing Co. of Algona, Iowa, that depicted the plight of farmers in Kossuth County, Iowa.

-For general audience magazines: L.J. Davis won for a piece in Harpers Magazine that detailed the battle for control of Gulf Corp.

-For local or syndicated magazine columnists: Robert J. Samuelson won for his column in Newsweek that distills economic and business news.

In announcing the 1985 winners, Champion International also said the program was being ended.

″In assessing the program, we felt that its objectives to stimulate more and better reporting of business and economic issues have been achieved,″ said Andrew C. Sigler, chairman of Champion, a Stamford, Conn.-based paper and forest products company. ″Over the past several years, the media have done a commendable job of explaining some very complex issues to broad, general audiences.″

AP-PX-06-03-86 1421EDT

Update hourly