Related topics

Pulitzer Jurors Named

January 9, 1986

NEW YORK (AP) _ The appointment of 65 editors and news executives as Pulitzer Prize nominating jurors was announced Wednesday by Columbia University President Michael I. Sovern.

The jurors will pass initial judgment on entries for the journalism awards based on work published in 1985.

The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded annually by Columbia on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. Pulitzer juries screen all entries and nominate some for the board’s particular consideration.

The jurors, each of whom is assigned to one of the 14 Pulitzer categories, are told that it is not their job to express any order of preference among their nominees, and that their reports are for the information of the Pulitzer board, which chooses the winners.

The board can give a Pulitzer Prize to a jury nominee or to an entry not nominated by the jury, or it can award no prize at all.

The jurors are Jean Adelsman, managing editor, The Daily Breeze, Torrance, Calif.; J.D. Alexander, managing editor, The San Diego Union; Kent Bernhard, executive editor, Detroit Free Press; Louis D. Boccardi, president, The Associated Press; Stephen L. Bouser, editor, The Salisbury (N.C.) Post; David Burgin, editor, San Francisco Examiner; Rich Clarkson, director of photography, National Geographic magazine; John M. Crewdson, West Coast correspondent, Chicago Tribune.

Michael Davies, editor and publisher, The Hartford (Conn.) Courant; Joseph Dill, editor, The Forum, Fargo, N.D.; Sara Engram, deputy editorial page editor, The Evening Sun, Baltimore; Robert H. Estabrook, publisher and editorial director, The Lakeville (Conn.) Journal; Michael R. Fancher, managing editor, The Seattle Times; Katherine W. Fanning, editor, The Christian Science Monitor.

Trueman E. Farris Jr., managing editor, Milwaukee Sentinel; Michael F. Foley, managing editor, St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times; Arthur Gelb, deputy managing editor, The New York Times; William German, executive editor, San Francisco Chronicle; Robert H. Giles, editor, Times-Union and Democrat and Chronicle, Rochester, N.Y.; Meg Greenfield, editoral page editor, The Washington Post; Skeeter Hagler, chief photographer, Dallas Times Herald.

David Hall, editor and vice president, The Denver Post; Jeanette Gottlieb Hardy, editor, Dixie Magazine, New Orleans Times-Picayune and The States-Item; Jay T. Harris, executive editor, Philadelphia Daily News; Randall C. Hatch, managing editor, Ogden (Utah) Standard-Examiner; Deborah Howell, executive editor, St. Paul (Minn.) Pioneer Press and Dispatch; Paul Janensch, executive editor, The Courier-Journal and The Louisville (Ky.) Times; Michael C. Janeway, editor, The Boston Globe; Pam McAllister Johnson, publisher, The Ithaca (N.Y.) Journal.

Peter R. Kann, associate publisher, The Wall Street Journal; William T. Kennedy, editor, Times Herald-Record, Middletown, N.Y.; Clayton Kirkpatrick, president and chief executive officer (retired), Chicago Tribune; Joel R. Kramer, executive editor, Minneapolis Star and Tribune; David Kraslow, publisher, The Miami News; Sanders H. LaMont, executive editor, The Modesto (Calif.) Bee; Lionel Linder, editor and vice president, The Detroit News; David Lipman, managing editor, St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

Anthony Marro, managing editor, Newsday, Long Island, N.Y.; Maxwell McCrohon, executive vice president and editor-in-chief, United Press International; Frank McCulloch, managing editor, San Francisco Examiner; Angus McEachran, editor, The Pittsburgh Press; Robert G. McGruder, managing editor, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland; Heath J. Meriwether, executive editor, The Miami Herald; Susan Miller, director of editorial development, Scripps-Howard Newspapers, Cincinnati; James G. Minter Jr., editor, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution.

Acel Moore, associate editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer; Alan Moyer, managing editor, The Arizona Republic, Phoenix; Rolfe Neill, president and publisher, The Charlotte (N.C.) Observer; Mike O’Neill, writer-editor, Scarsdale, N.Y.; Jean Otto, editorial page editor, Rocky Mountain News, Denver; Geneva Overholser, deputy editorial page editor, The Des Moines (Iowa) Register; John C. Quinn, editor, USA Today; Robert E. Rhodes, executive editor, Corpus Christi (Texas) Caller-Times; Curtis Riddle, managing editor, The Cincinnati Enquirer.

James Risser, director, John S. Knight Fellowships, Stanford University; Edwin A. Roberts Jr., editorial page editor, The Tampa (Fla.) Tribune; Sandra M. Rowe, executive editor, The Virginian-Pilot and The Ledger-Star, Norfolk, Va.; Wayne Sargent, editor, The Sun, San Bernardino, Calif.; Mary Schurz, editor and publisher, The Advocate-Messenger, Danville, Ky.; Alvin Shuster, foreign editor, Los Angeles Times.

Howard Simons, curator, Nieman Foundation for Journalism, Harvard University; F. Gilman Spencer, editor, Daily News, New York; John Sullivan, editor and publisher, The Livingston (Mont.) Enterprise; Roger Tatarian, professor of journalism, California State University at Fresno; James G. Wieghart, national political correspondent, Scripps-Howard Newspapers.

Members of the Pulitzer Board are Sovern; Osborn Elliott, dean of Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism; Russell Baker, columnist, The New York Times; Robert C. Christopher, board secretary; Michael Gartner, general news executive, Gannett Co., Des Moines, Iowa; Hanna H. Gray, president, University of Chicago; Howard H (Tim) Hays Jr., editor and publisher, Riverside (Calif.) Press-Enterprise.

James F. Hoge Jr., publisher, Daily News, New York; David A. Laventhol, senior vice president, Times Mirror Co.; Richard H. Leonard, associate editor, The Milwaukee Journal; C.K. McClatchy, editor and president, McClatchy Newspapers, Sacramento, Calif.; Warren H. Phillips, chairman, Dow Jones & Co. Inc.; Joseph Pulitzer Jr., editor and publisher, St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

William J. Raspberry, columnist, The Washington Post; Eugene L. Roberts Jr., executive editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer; Charlotte Saikowski, chief of Washington bureau, The Christian Science Monitor; Claude F. Sitton, editorial director, The News and Observer and The Raleigh (N.C.) Times; Roger W. Wilkins, senior fellow, Institute for Policy Studies, Washington, D.C.