Related topics

India wins toss, bats in 4th ODI vs. New Zealand

January 28, 2014

HAMILTON, New Zealand (AP) — India won the toss and elected to bat Tuesday in the fourth one-day cricket international against New Zealand at Seddon Park.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has won all four tosses in the series so far but had elected to bowl first in the three previous games. New Zealand leads the series 2-0 after winning the first two matches and after the third match on Saturday was tied.

Both teams made two changes to their lineups. India named Stuart Binny and Ambati Rayudu in place of Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina while New Zealand recalled Kyle Mills and Jimmy Neesham at the expense of Mitchell McClenaghan and Corey Anderson.

“We want to bat first because it looks like a good wicket and it’s a change of strategy,” Dhoni said. “Let’s hope we get off to a good start.

“A couple of changes bring in that extra bowler in the form of Stuart Binny but he’s also someone who can bat a bit lower down the order.”

Brendon McCullum said New Zealand also would have batted had they won the toss.

“It looks a little bit dry but hopefully we get that skid-on effect later on tonight,” he said.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Brendon McCullum (captain), Ross Taylor, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Hamish Bennett, Kyle Mills.

India: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dohni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron.

Update hourly