Press release content from Business Wire. The AP news staff was not involved in its creation.
PRESS RELEASE: Paid content from Business Wire
Press release content from Business Wire. The AP news staff was not involved in its creation.

NEM Convenes 22nd Annual National Energy Restructuring Conference

April 5, 2019

WASHINGTON--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Apr 5, 2019--The National Energy Marketers Association (NEM) will convene its 22nd Annual National Energy Restructuring Conference on April 10-12, 2019, at the Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill Hotel in Washington, DC. Participants will include federal and state energy policy officials as well as energy and technology industry leaders. Topics of discussion will include:

  • 2019 Retail Energy Market Report Card ” featuring state public service commissioners from leading retail choice jurisdictions;
  • The nationwide phenomenon of Consumer-Driven Retail Energy Market Openings;
  • Structuring Wholesale Energy Market Policies to Support and Enhance Retail Energy Competition ;
  • NEM member CEO panel, “ Current Challenges and Opportunities in Retail Energy Markets ”; and
  • NEM member technologist panel reviewing cutting-edge advances allowing retail suppliers to become more cost effective and deliver greater value.

NEM will be presenting “ Advancements in Competitive Energy Markets ” award to a public service commissioner in recognition of significant policy leadership in the retail energy industry. U.S. Congressman Anna Eshoo (D-CA) and U.S. Congressman Robert Latta (R-OH) of the House Energy & Commerce Committee are the luncheon keynote speakers. Dallas-based direct selling company, Stream (Energy), is the presenting luncheon sponsor at the annual event.

Keynote addresses will be delivered by Andrew Ott, President & CEO, PJM; Dallas Winslow, Chairman, Delaware PSC; John Betkoski, III, Vice Chairman, Connecticut PURA; Tim Echols, Vice Chairman, Georgia PSC; Odogwu Linton, Commissioner, Maryland PSC; Upendra Chivukula, Commissioner, New Jersey BPU; Michigan PSC; Diane Burman, Commissioner, New York PSC (invited); Valerie Espinoza, Commissioner, New Mexico PRC; Boyd Dunn, Commissioner, Arizona Corporation Commission; Dan Mumford, Director, OCMO, Pennsylvania PUC; Cary Hinton, Policy Advisor, District of Columbia PSC; and Jennifer Taylor, Deputy Director, Intergovernmental Relations, Nevada Governor’s Office of Energy.

Several former state regulatory commissioners and staff will also share their industry expertise including: Angela O’Connor, former Chair, Massachusetts DPU; Betty Ann Kane, former Chairman, District of Columbia PSC; John Quackenbush, former Chairman, Michigan PSC; Erin O’Connell-Diaz, former Commissioner, Illinois Commerce Commission; John Rosales, former Commissioner, ICC; Catherine Sandoval, former Commissioner, California PUC; and Diane Fellman, former Senior Policy Analyst, California PUC.

“After two decades of advocacy in support of retail energy markets, NEM is heartened to see a second wave of market openings, including in many Western states, propelled by strong demand for energy choice options by consumers of all sizes. NEM members are pleased and honored to serve consumers in the states already open for competition and also to provide innovative energy products and services to consumers in newly-opened markets. This event will be an excellent opportunity for sharing best practices on retail market structures, consumer protection rules and marketing standards, and the significant benefits that have been and will be achieved for consumers that shop with a competitive supplier,” said Craig Goodman, President of NEM.

About NEM

The National Energy Marketers Association (NEM) is a national, non-profit trade association representing wholesale and retail marketers of natural gas, electricity, as well as energy and financial related products, services, information and advanced technologies throughout the United States, Canada, and the European Union. Additional information about NEM’s 22 nd Annual National Energy Restructuring Conference is available from NEM’s headquarters at (202) 333-3288 or its website at www.energymarketers.com.

View source version on businesswire.com:https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20190405005424/en/

CONTACT: Craig Goodman

Telephone: (202) 333-3288

Facsimile: (202) 333-3266




SOURCE: National Energy Marketers Association

Copyright Business Wire 2019.

PUB: 04/05/2019 02:30 PM/DISC: 04/05/2019 02:30 PM