New Mexico voter registration deadline is Tuesday

October 8, 2018

Tuesday is the deadline to register to vote in the Nov. 6 general election.

New Mexico residents can register online or print out a voter registration form and mail it to the office of their county clerk through close of business Tuesday.

A mailed registration form will make the deadline as long as it is postmarked Tuesday.

To register online, residents may visit the voter registration portal of the Secretary of State’s Office at sfnm.co/2OK5OPs and follow the steps.

Voters also can print the voter registration form, available at sfnm.co/2diggui, and mail it to the county clerk’s office.

The Santa Fe County Clerk’s Office may be reached at 505-986-6280 and online at santafecountynm.gov/clerk.

The Clerk’s Office, like all county offices, will be closed Monday in recognition of Indigenous Peoples Day.

Contact information for other counties can be found at sfnm.co/2y1ci3a.

At issue Nov. 6 are all three of New Mexico’s congressional seats and one of the state’s two U.S. Senate seats.

U.S. Rep. Ben Ray Luján is seeking another term in the district that encompasses Santa Fe and the northern portion of the state. He faces Jerald Steve McFall, a Republican challenger, and Christopher Manning, the Libertarian candidate.

Democratic U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich is seeking a second six-term year. Former Gov. Gary Johnson is Heinrich’s Libertarian challenger, while the Republican nominee is contractor Mick Rich.

At the top of the state ballot is the gubernatorial contest between Democratic nominee Michelle Lujan Grisham and Republican candidate Steve Pearce.

Also to be decided are contests for secretary of state, land commissioner, attorney general, auditor and treasurer.

Contested state House races in the area include the District 46 race between Democratic nominee Andrea Romero and write-in candidate Heather Nordquist, and the District 50 race between Democratic Rep. Matthew McQueen and independent Jarratt Applewhite.

Santa Fe County voters on the southwest end of town will have a choice between Democrat Rudy Garcia and independent Mike Anaya for an open seat on the County Commission.

Early voting begins at County Clerk’s offices Tuesday and spreads to countywide locations Oct. 20.

Update hourly