Related topics

New Zealand wins toss, bats in ODI vs West Indies

January 3, 2014

NELSON, New Zealand (AP) — New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and chose to bat Saturday in the fourth one-day cricket international against the West Indies at the Saxton Oval.

The match is the first one-day international to be staged at the boutique stadium - with a capacity of just over 5,000 - which will host three matches during the 2015 World Cup.

Both teams made two changes for Saturday’s match. New Zealand named seamer Tim Southee to replace Adam Milne and Kane Williamson in place of all-rounder Jimmy Neesham.

The West Indies called in Tino Best to replace Ravi Rampaul, who has a broken thumb, and named Kirk Edwards ahead of opener Kieran Powell.

The five-match series is tied 1-1 after the West Indies won the opening match by two wickets and New Zealand won Wednesday’s third match by 159 runs. The second match was abandoned because of rain.

“We think the wicket looks pretty good,” McCullum said. “Within our short experience here domestically we think the wicket slows up a little bit.

“It might be a little bit tennis ball (bounce) early on, but if we can get through that we think it’s good batting conditions.”

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo said his team, especially his bowlers, had put behind their mauling in the third match of the series. New Zealand made 283-4 in a match reduced to 21 overs, led by Corey Anderson who made the fastest century in the history of one-day internationals.

“It seems a very good wicket and we wanted to bat first to let our batters bat without any scoreboard pressure,” Bravo said. “We’ve put the last match behind us. It’s something that doesn’t happen too often in cricket so we’re not going to harp on it too much. It’s a new day, new venue and a great opportunity for us to bounce back as a team now, show some character, show some fight.


New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Mitchell McClenaghan, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee.

West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Kirk Edwards, Chadwick Walton, Lendl Simmons, Johnson Charles, Narsingh Deonarine, Denesh Ramdin, Nikita Miller, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Tino Best.

Umpires: Billy Bowden, New Zealand, and Ian Gould, England.

Third umpire: Ranmore Martinesz, Sri Lanka. Chris Broad, England.

Update hourly