Carraway, Turner inducted into SC Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame

May 2, 2019

COLUMBIA, S.C. – Two Florence County law enforcement officers killed in an Oct. 3 ambush attack in western Florence County Oct. 3 have were among nine officers inducted into the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame.

Six of the officers lost their lives serving in 2018 while three were from decades ago, discovered last year through research.

Florence Police Sgt. Terrence Carraway died Oct. 3 of injuries he suffered when he and three other city officers responded into the county to back up a group of Florence County Sheriff’s Deputies who had come under fire while trying to serve a search warrant at a home in Vintage Place Subdivision. Florence County Sheriff’s Office investigators Farrah Turner died Oct. 22 of her injuries suffered in the same attack.

The induction ceremony took place Wednesday.

The Hall of Fame is part of the SC Department of Public Safety and was established by a legislative act in 1974. By that act, its purpose was defined “as a memorial to law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty and in recognition of the selfless dedication of all law enforcement officers in the day-to-day performance of their duties.”

“Last year was a difficult time in our state when we said goodbye to six officers,” said SCDPS Director Leroy Smith. “This ceremony recognizes that – regardless of the number of years that have passed – these officers hold a special place in our hearts and in our history.”

Other officers inducted into the hall include:

Officer H. Bascomb Cannon, Abbeville Police Department, who died Nov. 10, 1921Officer Hosea O. Martin, Laurens Police Department who died Dec. 14, 1921Officer Charlie Smith, Duncan Police Department, who died June 23, 1939Detective Michael R. Doty, York County Sheriff’s Office, who died Jan. 17, 2018Cpl. Dale S. Hallman, Saluda County Sheriff’s Office, who died April 6, 2018Master Deputy James L. Kirk Jr., Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office, who died April 24, 2018Deputy Jerry L. Hurd, Jr., Richland County Sheriff’s Department, who died Nov. 8, 2018

There are now 384 officers who hold a place of honor in the Hall of Fame Memorial Room.