School election mail-in ballots are due May 7

May 1, 2019

With an 8 p.m. deadline on Tuesday, May 7, voters living in districts with mail-ballot elections are reminded to drop them in the mail.

Voters also have the option of hand delivering ballots to their respective school districts.

Voters are also reminded that the outer envelope of a ballot must be signed by the person the ballot was issued to in order to be counted.

School districts holding mail ballot elections include: Bigfork, Fair-Mont-Egan, Helena Flats, Kalispell Public Schools, Smith Valley and West Valley.

Voters may see either contested trustee races or general fund levies, or both. General fund levies typically do not expire. Funding raised covers the day-to-day operation and maintenance of schools. Money raised by a general fund levy can be used for a broad range of expenses such as personnel, classroom supplies, textbooks, technology and building repairs or maintenance.

Following is a brief recap of election coverage.

There are six candidates vying for two open seats on the Bigfork School District board. Both are for three-year terms. Candidates are: incumbent Zack D. Anderson, Dennis Kelleher, Wendy Miller, Norah Morrison, Aaron Parish and Monarae Tuhy. Ballots are due in the district office, 600 Commerce St.

The Fair-Mont-Egan School District board has two three-year terms open with four candidates including: incumbent Katie Freeman, Linda C. Kaps, Travis Tennison and Lara Zimmerman. Ballots are due at the school, 797 Fairmont Rd.

Helena Flats School District is running a 200,000 can anticipate annual taxes to increase by about 1.2 million general fund levy on the ballot. Owners of homes with assessed values of 25.71 if approved.

There is one contested seat on the high school district is for a one-year term representing Marion, Olney-Bissell, Pleasant Valley, Smith Valley and West Valley school districts. Candidates are Anna Marie Bailey and April Snell.

Kalispell voters will decide a contested seat on the elementary district. Two candidates are vying for the two-year term - Sue Corrigan and Rebecca Linden. Ballots are due in the Central Office, 233 First Ave. E.

Three candidates are vying for two three-year terms on the Smith Valley School District board including incumbents Doni M. Bennett (write-in candidate) and Jerril M. Ren in addition to Rand A. Norby. Ballots are due at the school located at 2901 U.S. 2 W.

West Valley School District will run a 200,000 could anticipate annual taxes increasing by $53.78. Ballots are due at the school, 2290 Farm to Market Rd.

Evergreen, Columbia Falls, Marion and Whitefish school districts will vote in person at the polls on election day.

Reporter Hilary Matheson may be reached at 758-4431 or hmatheson@dailyinterlake.com.