Related topics

IRS Citizen Board Confirmed

September 8, 2000

WASHINGTON (AP) _ Two years after Congress legislated sweeping changes in the operations of the Internal Revenue Service, the Senate finally confirmed seven people to serve as ``private life″ members of an IRS oversight board.

The Senate confirmed the group by voice vote Friday, ending months of roadblocks erected by individual senators often for unrelated reasons. The Treasury secretary and IRS commissioner are permanent members of the nine-member board.

The IRS overhaul gave the panel the power to review agency operations to ensure taxpayers are treated properly and oversight responsibilities regarding management and recommendations for future IRS commissioners.

The seven approved Friday are:

_George L. Farr, former vice chairman of American Express, to a four-year term.

_Charles L. Kolbe, an Iowa cattle rancher, to a three-year term.

_Nancy Killefer, a former Treasury Department official, to a five-year term.

_Larry R. Levitan, former partner at Arthur Andersen & Co., to a five-year term.

_Steve Nickles, law professor at Wake Forest University, to a four-year term.

_Robert Tobias, former president of the National Treasury Employees Union, to a five-year term.

_Karen Hastie Williams, a partner at Crowell & Moring law firm, to a three-year term.

Update hourly