Panel chooses finalists for New Mexico Court of Appeals

January 13, 2019

SANTA FE, N.M. (AP) — A nominating panel has chosen six finalists whose names will be forwarded to Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham as she prepares to fill a vacancy on the New Mexico Court of Appeals.

The nominating commission met Friday in Santa Fe to evaluate nine candidates who submitted applications for the post.

The finalists include William Daniel Slease, chief disciplinary counsel for the state Supreme Court, Administrative Office of the Courts Director Arthur Pepin and Santa Fe attorney Jane Bloom Yohalem. Slease and Yohalem are also are among the candidates being considered for two vacancies on the New Mexico Supreme Court.

The others in the running for the appeals court position are Zachary Arthur Ives, Martha Anne Kelley and Kerry Christopher Kiernan.

Update hourly