Wrestlers Shoot For League Championship

December 14, 2018

The wrestling season kicked off this week with dual meets, but the league will be in full force this weekend.

Fourteen teams and many more individuals battle for supremacy at the Lackawanna League wrestling championships Saturday starting at 9 a.m. at Wallenpaupack High School.

The event will crown an individual champion in each of the 14 weight classes and a team champion.

Last season, Delaware Valley dominated the tournament with four league champions, two silver medalists and three third- and fourth-place finishers. The Warriors finished 105.5 points above second-place finisher Scranton on their way to a District 2 Class 3A title and a top-12 finish at states. However, Delaware Valley lost All-Region performers Mike McKinney, Andrew Kidd and John McCarthy to graduation as well as coaches’ first-team all-star Joey Porco, which will bring the Warriors back to the field.

Behind the strength of four league champions, Scranton finished second in the tournament. State champion Willy Evanitsky and Jacob Burgette, who placed fifth at states last season, graduated, but the Knights return defending champion, state qualifier and All-Region performer Jeremiah Oakes, who joined the 100-win club Tuesday, and Bobby Zelinski.

West Scranton, who finished third last season, returns 10 starters, including defending Lackawanna League champion, state qualifier and

All-Region performer Jeremy Seymour. The Invaders won the tournament two seasons ago.

All-Region athlete and defending league champion Joe Hester leads Montrose, who placed tied for fourth last season with Honesdale.

The Hornets used a balanced attack last season with no champions, but two second- and third-place finishers.

Abington Heights placed sixth last season, led by sophomore Brandon Grogan’s league title and six top-four finishers.

All-Region performer and defending champion Tyler Neglia also returns for Wallenpaupack.

Contact the writer:



@sportsTT on Twitter


If you go...

WHAT: Lackawanna League wrestling championships

WHEN: Saturday, 9 a.m.

WHERE: Wallenpaupack High School

LAST SEASON’S CHAMPIONS: 106: Brandon Grogan* (Abington Heights); 113: Joey

Porco (Delaware Valley); 120: Preston Machado* (Delaware Valley); 126:

Bobby Zelinski* (Scranton); 132: Joe Hester* (Montrose); 138: Mike McKinney

(Delaware Valley); 145: Jeremiah Oakes* (Scranton); 152: Willy Evanitsky

(Scranton); 160: Jacob Burgette (Scranton); 170: Jason Henderson* (Delaware

Valley); 182: Jeremy Seymour* (West Scranton); 195: Tyler Neglia*

(Wallenpaupack); 220: Ivan Balavage (Scranton Prep); 285: Dave DeGroat


LAST SEASON’S TEAM STANDINGS: 1. Delaware Valley 256.5, 2. Scranton 151.0,

3. West Scranton 142.0, 4. Honesdale 133.0, 4. Montrose 133.0, 6. Abington

Heights 119.5, 7. Scranton Prep 113.5, 8. Wallenpaupack 97.0, 9. Western

Wayne 87.0, 10. Blue Ridge 49.0, 11. Lackawanna Trail 31.0, 12. Valley View

30.0, 13. Elk Lake 24.0, 14. Mountain View 19.5.

*Indicates wrestler is returning champion

Follow beat writer Joe Baress @sportsTT on Twitter for updates.

Update hourly