Related topics

Cornell Wins Award From Religion Writers’ Group

May 3, 1987

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) _ George Cornell, religion writer for The Associated Press, was named winner of the George Templeton Reporter of the Year Award on Saturday by the Religion Newswriters Association.

The award, with a prize of $2,500, is given annually by the association, national organization of journalists who specialize in religion coverage for the secular press, said the group’s vice president, Bruce Buursma of the Chicago Tribune.

The RNA also named Russell Chandler of the Los Angeles Times the winner of its Supple Award for distinguished religion writing.

The Grand Rapids (Mich.) Press and its religion editor, Chris Meehan, won the Schachern Award for the best religion news section. The Cassels Award for excellence in religion reporting at newspapers or magazines of less than 50,000 circulation went to Rosanne Ramunni of The Express in Easton, Pa.

RNA president Helen Parmley of the Dallas Morning News and Buursma presented the awards during the RNA’s convention on Saturday.

The convention was held in conjunction with the founding convention of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

The four contests sponsored by the association carry a total of $4,600 in cash awards.

Cornell, 66, who has specialized in news of religion for more than 30 years, writes two weekly columns for the AP, ″Religion in the News″ for afternoon papers and ″Religion Today″ for morning.

A native of Weatherford, Okla., he worked for the Cleveland County Times and the Daily Oklahoman in Oklahoma City before joining the AP in 1951. He is author of several books on religion.

Update hourly