Related topics

Pakistan wins toss, bats 1st in World Cup QF vs Australia

March 20, 2015

ADELAIDE, Australia (AP) — Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bat first Friday in the Cricket World Cup quarterfinal against co-host Australia at the Adelaide Oval.

Pakistan, the 1992 champion, retained the same lineup which finished off the pool stage with a win over Ireland at Adelaide last weekend.

Four-time champion Australia made one change to the lineup which beat Scotland in its last pool match, with Josh Hazlewood coming in for Pat Cummins in the pace attack.

Pakistan qualified for the quarterfinals with four straight wins after losing its opening two matches against defending champion India and the West Indies. Australia finished second to co-host New Zealand in Pool A with four wins, a tie and a one-wicket loss to the New Zealanders.

The winner will play India in the semifinals.

Misbah said the conditions might assist the seamers later in the day. Pakistan lost its first two games badly while chasing targets.

Australia captain Michael Clarke said the curators had left a bit of grass on the pitch, which could suit his pace attack early.

“I’m not that bothered to be honest,” he said on losing the toss. “Looks like a beautiful wicket.”



Australia: Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steven Smith, Michael Clarke (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.

Pakistan: Ahmed Shahzad, Sarfraz Ahmed, Haris Sohail, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka, and Marais Erasmus, South Africa.

Third umpire: Richard Illingworth, England. Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.

Update hourly