Most Polk County cities’ voters reject sales tax increase

March 7, 2018

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Voters in most Polk County cities have rejected a 1-cent increase to the local sales tax.

Unofficial results show the measure failed by 227 votes Tuesday in the 10 Polk County cities that have contiguous borders: Altoona, Bondurant, Clive, Des Moines, Grimes, Johnston, Pleasant Hill, Urbandale, West Des Moines and Windsor Heights.

The tax was expected to generate $79 million annually, and cities planned to use the money to hold down property taxes and pay for such things as parks, trail extensions and street improvements.

Without the $37 million Des Moines would have received in the first year of the increase, city officials are expected to raise the city property tax rate by 20 cents Thursday before passing a budget for the fiscal year that begins July 1.

Update hourly