Related topics

Australia vs. South Africa Toss

September 2, 2014

HARARE, Zimbabwe (AP) — South Africa won the toss and sent an under-pressure Australia in to bat in their triangular series one-day international on Tuesday.

Australia has lost its past two games in the series — including a surprising defeat by Zimbabwe on Sunday — to slip from No. 1 to No. 4 in the ODI rankings. The Aussies also lost captain Michael Clarke for the rest of the series to a hamstring injury.

Australia made three changes after the three-wicket loss to Zimbabwe, with Steve Smith in for the injured Clarke, who has returned home. Left-arm quick Mitchell Johnson and Kane Richardson also returned, replacing bowling allrounders James Faulkner and Ben Cutting.

For unbeaten South Africa, captain A.B. de Villiers and fast bowler Morne Morkel returned after missing the win over Zimbabwe last week.

South Africa leads the triangular series standings with two wins from two and can secure a place in Saturday’s final with a win. Australia is second and Zimbabwe third. A bonus-point win for Australia on Tuesday would put it into the final.



Australia: George Bailey (captain), Aaron Finch, Phil Hughes, Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon.

South Africa: A.B. de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, J.P. Duminy, Ryan McLaren, Dale Steyn, Aaron Phangiso, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Update hourly