Related topics

New Government to Include 7 Women Ministers

May 9, 1986

OSLO, Norway (AP) _ Prime Minister Gro Harlem Brundtland is expected to appoint a record seven women as ministers Friday in Norway’s new coalition government.

Ten of the 18 ministers will belong to the Norwegian parliament, the Storting, according to a list reported Thursday by the news agency NTB.

Mrs. Brundtland’s government takes over from the Conservative-led coalition headed by former Prime Minister Kaare Willoch.

Willoch and his government resigned May 2 after losing a vote of confidence over its inability to pass austerity proposals aimed at coping with tax revenue lost because of the drop in oil prices. Norway is one of the world’s largest independent oil producers.

If seven women members of the new Labor government are appointed it would be the most of any Norwegian government. The Willoch government had four women ministers.

The news agency said the most experienced member of the new government appeared likely to be former Foreign Minister Knut Frydenlund, 59, who held that position for eight years in other Labor governments.

It listed Johan Joergen Holst, a former deputy defense minister, as the new defense minister.

The two key appointments are not expected to produce any major change in the foreign and military affairs of Norway, which is a member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

Mrs. Brundtland, 47, headed an eight-month Labor government in 1981. It appeared she picked only three people who were ministers then to be part of the new government.

In addition to Frydenlund, Finn Kristensen, 49, was expected to return as minister of industry and Sissel Roenbeck, 36, a former minister of consumer affairs, is expected to become minister of environmental affairs.

Willoch’s coalition continues to control 78 seats in the 157-seat Storting, one short of a majority but two more than Mrs. Brundtland’s socialist alliance.

Two seats are held by the small anti-tax Progress Party, which torpedoed Willoch’s government when it refused to support a new tax on gasoline.

The distribution of Storting seats cannot be changed before Norway’s next national elections in 1989.

According to the news agency, dditional cabinet members expected to be installed Friday include:

Gunnar Berge, Minister of Finance

Helen Boesterud, Minister of Justice

Anne-Lise Bakken, Minister of Consumer Affairs and Public Administration

Halvard Bakke, Minister of Culture and Science

Arne Oeien, Minister of Oil and Energy

Kjell Borgen, Minister of Communications

Leif Haraldseth, Minister of Rural and Labor Affairs

Tove Strand Gerhardsen, Minister of Social Affairs

Bjarne Moerk Eidem, Minister of Fisheries

Kirsti Kolle Groendahl, Minister of Church and Education Affairs

Gunhild Oeygarden, Minister of Agricultural Afffairs

Vesla Vetlesen, Minister of Foreign Aid

Knut Mosbakk, Minister of Trade

Update hourly