Related topics

List of New Soviet Communist Party Politburo With AM-Soviet-Party, Bjt

July 14, 1990

MOSCOW (AP) _ The new Communist Party Politburo, elected Saturday by the party Central Committee, has 24 members. The only incumbents are General Secretary Mikhail S. Gorbachev and his deputy, Vladimir Ivashko. The previous status of non- voting, or candidate, membership, has been eliminated. Dates of birth are indicated if known.

1. Mikhail S. Gorbachev, elected to Politburo in October 1980, Soviet president and Communist Party general secretary since March 11, 1985. Born March 2, 1931.

2. Vladimir Ivashko, elected to Politburo in December 1989, deputy general secretary. Former president and party chief of the Ukraine. Born 1932.

3. Vladimir Movsisyan, leader of the Communist Party in Armenia.

4. Ayaz Mutalibov, Communist Party leader in Azerbaijan. Born 1938.

5. Yefrem Sokolov, Communist Party leader in Byelorussia. Born April 25, 1926.

6. Enn Arno Sillari, Communist Party leader in Estonia.

7. Givi Gumbaridze, Communist Party leader in Georgia. Born 1945.

8. Nursultan Nazarbav, Communist Party leader in Kazakhstan. Born 1940.

9. Absomat Masaliyev, Communist Party leader in Kirghizia. Born 1933.

10. Alfreds Rubiks, Latvian Communist Party leader. Born Nov. 24, 1935.

11. Mikolas Burakevicius, Lithuanian Communist Party leader.

12. Pyotr Luchinsky, Moldavian Communist Party leader. Born Jan. 27, 1940.

13. Ivan Polozkov, leader of the Russian Federation Communist Party. Born Feb. 16, 1935.

14. Kakhar Makhkamov, Communist Party leader in Tadzhikistan. Born 1932.

15. Sappar Niyazov, Communist Party leader in Turkmenia. Born 1940.

16. Stanislav Gurenko, Ukrainian Communist Party leader. Born 1936.

17. Islam Karimov, Communist Party leader in Uzbekistan. Born 1920.

18. Alexander Dzasokhov, chairman of the Supreme Soviet International Affairs Commission. Responsible for party ideology. Born 1934.

19. Yuri Prokofiev, Moscow Communist Party chief.

20. Galina Semyonova, editor-in-chief of ″Peasant Woman″ magazine, responsible for women’s issues. Born 1937.

21. Gennady Yanayev, head of the Central Council of Trade Unions, responsible for international affairs. Born Aug. 26, 1937.

22. Oleg Shenin, party leader in Krasnoyarsk region of Siberia, responsible for organizational issues. Born July 22, 1937.

23. Igor Stroyev, responsible for agriculture. Born February 1937.

24. Ivan Frolov, editor of the party newspaper Pravda. Born Sept. 1, 1929.

Update hourly