Click to copy
Click to copy

‘Case Unsolved’ podcast among state award winners

Staff WriterMay 25, 2019

“Case Unsolved,” The Day’s podcast on local cold cases, received a first-place award Thursday night at the Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists annual awards banquet.

The series was reported by Karen Florin, Lindsay Boyle and Erica Moser, narrated by Carlos Virgen and produced by Peter Huoppi. Tim Cotter was the executive producer and Izaskun Larraneta the assistant producer.

For the first time, The Day competed in the largest circulation category in the contest.

Florin also was first in courts reporting for “One Family’s Sole Survivor.”

David Collins placed first in column writing for a piece on Connecticut Landmarks’ ownership of Forge Farm.

Lee Howard won the top prize for business reporting for a story on the 10th anniversary of the closing of a New London credit union.

Melissa Johnson and Jacinta Meyers were first in page 1 layout, and Meyers placed first and second in editorial cartoon.

Tim Cook’s video “Sanctuary in Old Lyme” placed first.

The “Helping Hands” series placed third in reporting series. It was written by Julia Bergman, Amanda Hutchinson, Kimberly Drelich, Karen Florin, Erica Moser and Mary Biekert.

Other winners were: Sean D. Elliot, second, news photo and photo essay, and third, photo essay and news photo; Sarah Gordon, second, sports photo and feature photo; Dana Jensen, third, feature photo; Mary Biekert, second, leisure reporting and third arts & entertainment reporting; Lindsay Boyle, third, in-depth reporting; Joe Turco, second, headline writing; John Ruddy, third, headline writing; Peter Huoppi, third, video; and Steve Fagin, third, sports feature.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.