Related topics

Sports Shorts

September 25, 1992

SHIOYAMACHI, Japan (AP) _ Jumbo Ozaki shot a 3-under-par 69 Friday and tied fellow Japanese Tsuyoshi Yoneyama for the second-round lead in the Gene Sarazen Jun Classic. They have 138 totals.

Yoneyama shot a 70 on Friday.

Chen Tze-chung of Taiwan fell one stroke off the pace after a 71.

American David Ishii was tied for fourth after a 72, and Todd Hamilton failed to make the cut.


ATHENS, Greece (AP) - A field of 108 ultra-marathoners set off Friday on a 156-mile race that will retrace the steps to Sparta taken 2,500 years ago by the ancient Athenian courier Pheidippides.

Ninety-seven men and 11 women from 18 countries are attempting to finish the Spartathlon, being run for the tenth time.

Runners will cover the distance over asphalt roads, dirt strips and mountain paths to reach the city of Sparta, in the southern Peloponnesus.

They set off from the marble Panathenaic stadium, site of the first modern Olympics in 1896, at daybreak. The first runner was expected to reach Sparta Saturday morning.


TOKYO (AP) - American wrestler Konishiki, still bearing his champion title, took another fall Thursday, both in the ring and the standings of the Autumn Grand Sumo Tournament.

Daishoho sent the Hawaiian to his fifth loss in 13 bouts. Konishiki, whose real name is Salevaa Fuauli Atisanoe, lunged for Daishoho but flopped onto his belly when his opponent stepped aside.

Another American, Akebono, whose name is Chad Rowan, bulldozed out Kirishima with powerful hand thrusts for his seventh victory.


LIMERICK, Ireland (AP) - Edwig van Hooydonck of Belgium won Friday’s stage in the Tour of Ireland and grabbed the overall lead from countryman Wilfried Nelissen.

Van Hooydonck outsprinted Thomas Wegmuller of Switzerland after the two broke away from the field 47 miles into the 87-mile run from Galway.

Nelissen, overall leader since Wednesday’s first day, finished third.

Van Hooydonck and Wegmuller both had started the day 18 seconds behind Nelissen. Van Hooydonck now leads by five seconds over Wegmuller with Nelissen a further second behind.


NICOSIA, Cyprus (AP) - Allesandro Fiorio of Italy set a record time in winning the first special stage of the Cyprus Rally, cutting 20 seconds off the 1988 mark set by Kenneth Eriksson.

Fiorio, heading a field of 94 crews from seven countries in the final round of the European Championship, drove his Lancia Integrale 16V through the 11- mile stage in 18 minutes and 55 seconds.

Last year’s winner, Antonis Jeropoulos of Cyprus in a Mitsubishi Gallant VR4, was second.


Update hourly