Resolutions honor NAACP national chairman at Florence dinner

April 13, 2019

FLORENCE, S.C. – NAACP Board of Directors Chairman Leon Russell received two resolutions in his honor at the annual Freedom Fund Dinner of the Florence Branch of the NAACP Friday evening.

Russell was presented a copy of a resolution of the Florence City Council made in his honor by Florence City Councilwoman Teresa Myers Ervin. The city council approved the resolution 6-0 at Monday’s monthly meeting.

Myers Ervin read the resolution before she presented it to Russell.

He also received a copy of a resolution from Florence County. Council Chairman Waymon Mumford was unable to attend the ceremony and Florence Branch President of the NAACP Jerry Keith Jr. presented the resolution. Mumford was preaching at revival Friday evening.

Russell was also scheduled to speak later during the program on a theme of “Defeat Hate: Vote.”

The Florence Branch of the NAACP also presented awards to former President Madie Robinson and former Treasurer Rayshaw Gaddy for their service to the organization from 2004 to 2018. The awards were presented by Maggie Glover, first vice president of the Florence branch.

Russell retired in January 2012, after serving as the director of the Office of Human Rights for Pinellas County (Fla.) government since January 1977. In that position, Russell was responsible for implementing the county’s affirmative action and human rights ordinances which provide for the development of a racially and sexually diverse workforce reflecting the general make-up of the local civilian labor force and the implementation of the county’s equal employment opportunity Programs.

The NAACP is the oldest and largest civil rights organization in the nation. Its mission is to ensure the political, educational, social, economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race–based discrimination.