AP NEWS
Related topics

BC-IL--Chicago Municipal Runoff Election Testing,ADVISORY, IL

March 28, 2019

EDITORS:

NEWS DIRECTORS:

MARCH 28 UPDATE:

Updates slug for contested alderman races, to IL-Ald-Contested instead of IL-Oth-Ald-Contested, and that report moves once hourly at :40 to non-premium services.

NOT FOR BROADCAST, PUBLICATION OR USE ONLINE

The Chicago municipal runoff is Tuesday, April 2.

Poll close: 8 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CDT)

First results expected 8:20 p.m. EDT (7:20 p.m. CDT)

ELECTION PROFILE:

AP will tabulate 17 runoffs, including Chicago mayor, treasurer and 15 alderman races.

ANOMALIES:

AP will not declare winners in alderman races.

CONTACTS - ELECTION REPORTS:

Direct any questions about election reports, testing, or delivery to AP Elections services to AP Customer Support at 877-836-9477 or apcustomersupport@ap.org.

Documentation for the AP Elections services is available at http://aphelp.ap.org.

Direct questions about news and photo coverage to News Editor Roger Schneider at 313-259-0650 or rschneider@ap.org.

CONTACTS - SERVICE CHANGES:

Members and customers interested in premium election services should contact Sales Planning Manager Tara Mahoney at 212-621-1759 or tmahoney@ap.org.

TESTING INFORMATION:

Testing begins Monday, March 25. Testing will be from 1:30-2:30 p.m. EDT (12:30-1:30 p.m. CDT) on Monday, Wednesday and Thursday, with the last test on Monday, April 1. No winners will be called during the last test.

Zeros will be transmitted after testing on the eve of the election.

Race calls: AP will make race calls on election night unless a race is too close to call. Race calls will be made during testing, except on the day of the final test. AP will not call contested alderman races during testing or on election night.

Races, candidates and precincts are considered final, starting Monday, March 25.

Winners: AP will move a list of unofficial winners at the end of tabulation and during each test, except on the final day of testing. A list of winners, IL-Winners will move to premium services at ftp://electionsonline.ap.org/IL/anpa/.

End of tabulation: AP will advise when its election night tabulation of results has concluded, generally before 6 p.m. local time the day after the election.

TESTING BASICS:

Test results are created electronically to test the accuracy of the election night reporting system and do not reflect an expectation of election results. They should not be broadcast, published, replicated or posted on websites.

It is vital to read weekly advisories during testing. Advisories move to news service advisory queues. Advisories note updates to candidates, races and precincts, along with the date when updates will appear. Changes may be made up to and including Election Day.

AP advises capture of each test during the testing period and particularly during the final test on the day before the election to ensure readiness to take results on Election Day.

Report frequency in testing may not reflect the actual election night schedule.

ELECTION DAY INFORMATION:

Premium Election Customers:

Premium Election Products (API, APEO-FTP, ANPA-FTP, DNE Elections) will have live zeros by 2 a.m. EDT (1 a.m. CDT), Election Day.

AP Newsroom and Webfeeds Users:

On Election Day from 1-2 p.m. EDT (noon-1 p.m. CDT), there will be a “live” (nontest) transmission of reports with zeros sent to AP Newsroom and Webfeeds.

Please pull in these live zero reports to clear your systems of test data.

DEFINITIONS OF KEY WORDS IN STATE SLUGS:

“TopRaces-Glance-Sum” contains race-wide results in summary format for contests AP considers editorially significant (mayor and city treasurer).

“Contested” provides results in summary format for contested alderman races.

ELECTION NIGHT SLUGS BY SERVICE / ELECTION NIGHT REPORT SCHEDULE

Here are the slugs for the reports AP will provide and approximate times they will move for each service on election night:

Premium Elections Results via Digital Feeds (API, ANPA-FTP, APEO-FTP, DNE Elections): Results are updated every three minutes for API/DNE and four to five minutes for APEO-FTP and ANPA-FTP.

IL-TopRaces-Glance-Sum

IL-Ald-Contested

Member Choice Basic / Member Choice Plus / Member Choice Complete, includes Webfeeds and AP Newsroom:

IL-TopRaces-Glance-Sum, twice hourly at :20 and :50

IL-Ald-Contested, once hourly at :40

OpenWire / NewsPower / Newspower Max, includes Webfeeds and AP Newsroom:

IL-TopRaces-Glance-Sum, twice hourly at :20 and :50

IL-Ald-Contested, once hourly at :40

Headlines, includes Webfeeds and AP Newsroom:

IL-TopRaces-Glance-Sum, once hourly at :50

The AP-Chicago