Rochester JM’s Matthew Hurt is Minnesota AP Player of Year

April 1, 2019
1 of 3
John Marshall's Matthew Hurt (1) goes up for a shot against Austin defender Teyghan Hovland (3) during a boys high school basketball game in Rochester, Minn., Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2018. Matthew Hurt is the 2019 Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award winner, Monday, April 1, 2019.(Joe Ahlquist/The Rochester Post-Bulletin via AP)

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Rochester John Marshall’s Matthew Hurt is the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year for prep boys basketball.

The award, voted on by a statewide media panel, was announced Monday. The 6-foot-9 senior forward played six varsity seasons for the Rockets, who lost in the section championship game each year.

With 3,819 career points, Hurt became Minnesota’s all-time leader for large schools. He had 1,072 points this season alone, according to statistics compiled by the Rochester Post-Bulletin .

Hurt has not yet committed to a college, with Duke, Kansas, Kentucky, Memphis, Minnesota and North Carolina the finalists. His brother, Michael Hurt, has played three years for the Gophers.

Joining Hurt on AP’s all-state team are Minnehaha Academy’s Jalen Suggs, Zeke Nnaji of Hopkins, DeLaSalle’s Tyrell Terry and David Roddy of Breck.