Related topics

Australia wins toss, bowls in tri-series ODI vs. India

January 26, 2015

SYDNEY (AP) — Australia captain George Bailey won the toss and sent India in to bat Monday in the tri-series limited-overs cricket international against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Bailey returned to the Australia lineup after a one-match suspension. Opener David Warner also returns after missing Friday’s match against England, while Mitch Marsh, Josh Hazlewood and Xavier Doherty were named to replace Shaun Marsh, Pat Cummins and Moises Henriques.

Fast bowler Ishant Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja were included in India’s lineup after overcoming injuries, while Rohit Sharma was not considered because of a hamstring strain.

Unbeaten Australia has already qualified for the series final in Perth, while India has yet to win a match.



Australia: Aaron Finch, David Warner, George Bailey (captain), Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Xavier Doherty, Josh Hazlewood.

India: Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Akshar Patel, Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, South Africa, and Paul Wilson, Australia.

TV umpire: Mick Martell, Australia. Match referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.

Update hourly