Sugar Land voters decide City Council races

May 5, 2019

Sugar Land residents went to the ballots to decide four city council positions on Election Day on Saturday, May 4.

In the race for District 1 on the City Council, incumbent Steve R. Porter took approximately 76 percent of the votes to defeat challenger Mohammad ‘Jazz’ Aijaz. Of the 1,797 votes cast, 1,366 ballots went to Porter and 431 (23.98 percent) to Aijaz, according to unofficial results provided the Fort Bend County.

The District 2 position was led by Naushad Kermally, who took 1,634 (39.16 percent) of the 4,173 ballots cast. Candidate Nabila Mansoor came in close behind with a total of 1,428 votes (34.22 percent) and David Gomet received 1,111 (26.62 percent). Incumbent Bridget R. Yeung did not seek re-election due to term-limits.

Incumbent Carol McCutcheon won re-election to the District 4 position with 2,215 (64.04 percent) of the total ballots of 3,459 over challenger William Ferguson with 1,244 (35.96 percent), according to unofficial election results.

For the District 3 position, Stewart Jacobson ran unopposed. Incumbent Amy Mitchell did not seek re-election due to term-limits.