Election victors from Florence area say they are grateful for support

November 8, 2018

Jesse Cartrette Jr.

FLORENCE, S.C. – Familiar faces will be returning to Columbia to represent Florence County.

Republican Jay Jordan defeated Mike Brank to retain the House District 63 seat. Jordan defeated Democrat Mike Brank 64.61 percent to 35.33 percent, according to the unofficial numbers from the South Carolina Election Commission.

Jordan said he was tremendously thankful to the voters of his district and said he couldn’t thank his supporters enough.

House District 63 includes West Florence.

Democrat Robert Williams, who also ran against Republican incumbent Tom Rice for Congressional District 7, will return to represent House District 62 in Columbia. He defeated Republican Billy Baldwin by securing 63.12 percent of the vote.

Williams said he was ready to get back to work and ready to hear from his constituents.

Concerning Congressional District 7, where he secured 40.23 percent of the vote to Tom Rice’s 59.64 percent, Williams said he may run again in the future.

“I just want to thank all of the supporters for supporting me,” Williams said. “Hopefully, as we regain our strength and our thoughts, there may be a time again in the future when I need them.”

Thank you, my friends!” Rice said in a statement on Twitter about his victory. “It is an honor to continue serving you in Congress. I will keep fighting to grow our #SC07 economy and create opportunity for you!”

House District 62 includes central Darlington County including the city of Darlington and a portion of Hartsville and two bits of eastern Florence County including Timmonsville. Congressional District 7 includes Horry, Georgetown, Marion, Dillon, Marlboro, Chesterfield, Darlington and most of Florence County.

Republican Phillip Lowe will return to represent House District 60. He defeated Democrat Devon Long by securing 61.1 percent of the vote.

Lowe said he appreciated the opportunity to continue to represent the district and added that he was humbled. He also said he hoped to continue to improve his district and the state and to make this a better place to live and work.

House District 60 includes southern Darlington County and a portion of western Florence County.

Democrats Pat Henegan (House District 54), Jackie “Coach” Hayes (District 55), Lucas Atkinson (District 57), Terry Alexander (District 59), and Roger Kirby (District 61) ran unopposed in the election.

Locally, Republican Jesse Cartrette Jr defeated Democrat Rebecca Guess McGill by securing 51.28 percent of the vote.

’It means a lot to me to have their support,” Cartrette said. “I can’t thank them enough.”

In other races, Solicitor Ed Clements III, a Democrat, ran unopposed to secure re-election and Debra Dennis, a Republican, ran unopposed to be elected county auditor.

Florence County Councilman Republican Jason Springs, Democrat Al Bradley, Republican Steven DeBerry IV, Democrat Waymon Mumford, and Republican James Schofield were also unopposed in their re-election bids as were Florence City Council members Democrat Teresa Myers-Ervin (District 1), Democrat Pat Gibson-Hye Moore (District 2), Republican Frank J. “Buddy” Brand II (District 3), and Democrat George Jebaily (at-large).

Update hourly