Fruth Pharmacy hosts 27th annual Scholarship Golf Tournament

October 6, 2018

HURRICAN E — Fruth Pharmacy recently celebrated 27 years of raising scholarship funds for deserving area college students. This year’s event was held at Sleepy Hollow Golf Club in Hurricane on Aug. 6. Opening ceremonies took place on the course. During the ceremony, Lynne Fruth, president of Fruth Pharmacy, recognized scholarship recipients and businesses contributing to the scholarship fund.

“Each year, this event has helped support many scholarship students,” Fruth said in a news release. “This year there are 42 students receiving a Fruth Scholarship. This tournament is also supporting the new Bridge of Hope Scholarship fund, a fund for persons who have completed an addiction recovery program and are wanting to go back to college or earn a trade certification.”

Fruth introduced a few of the Bridge of Hope Scholarship winners. Emily Birckhead was one of those winners.

“Emily has a powerful story to share,” Fruth addressed the audience, “she was at the highest point in her academic career when she spiraled into addiction. Since her recovery, Emily has made it her mission to help educate students and helped develop recovery programs at the WVU campus.”

Birckhead plans to attend Marshall University and pursue her Master’s in social work.

Arron Walker, another Bridge of Hope Scholarship winner, was interviewed by WOWK-TV’s Spencer Adkins. During his interview, Walker spoke highly of Fruth Pharmacy.

Walker shared the positive impact of receiving the scholarship and his desire to complete a criminal justice degree to become a parole officer.

“I plan to help guide and mentor people who are trying to overcome addiction,” he said. “If more businesses supported persons in recovery like Fruth, it would be a huge step to helping those in recovery get back in the workforce.”

Over the past 27 years, the Fruth Family, Fruth Employees, and Fruth Pharmacy’s business partners have helped contribute over $750,000 to scholarships for local universities, colleges, and trade programs.

Fruth scholarship funds were first established in 1986 in memory of Fruth’s grandparents, Henry E. and Marjorie M. Fruth at the University of Rio Grande. The Fruth Pharmacy Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament began in 1991 and helped create many more scholarships. Fruth Pharmacy has scholarships at Marshall University School of Pharmacy, Marshall Mid-Ohio Valley Center, West Virginia University School of Pharmacy, University of Charleston School of Pharmacy, The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy, and more.


• Marshall University Big Green: Ali Burdette

• Marshall University: Ali Burdette, Harleigh Bush, Trevor Cantrell, Nakayla Elliott, Brandon Henderson, Madalein Jackson, Kayla Keaton, Braxton Maddox, Darby McCloud, Logan McCloud. Michael Parcell, Kody Ramey, Shayla Wallace, Kennedy Wamsley, Trenton Wamsleyn

• Marshall University School of Pharmacy: Keaton Kaplan, Braxton Maddoxn Marshall Mid-Ohio Valley Center: Allorah O’Dell, Bailey Watsonn

• West Virginia University School of Pharmacy: Adam Brenneman, EvanTurcon

• University of Charleston School of Pharmacy: Kathryn Howerton, Hayley Shepherdn

• The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy: Ken-dra Leen Ohio University Southern: Austin Riddlen

• University of Rio Grande: Keri Vanco, Brandon Las-setern Bridge of Hope: Amanda Barker, Emily Birckhead, Brittany Farley, Gregory Moore, Nick Roberts, Michael Robinette, Bernard Slater, Arron Walkern

• Cedarville University School of Pharmacy: Lia Hickin-bothamn

• Putnam County Math Field Day: Haleigh Casto, Kyle Casto, Katelyn Ragan, and Josh Wine.

Update hourly