New DeKalb County Board committee leaders to be selected

December 3, 2018

SYCAMORE – New DeKalb County Board committee leaders will be selected during the board’s organizational meeting Monday.

Three representatives from each of the county’s Democratic and Republican caucuses will decide which County Board member will lead each committee, said board Chairman Mark Pietrowski Jr., a Democrat who represents District 3.

He said board members also will select the next chairman and vice chairman.

The County Board chairman often is an out-front representative of the board.

The chairman presides over meetings, appoints members of board committees, compiles agendas for meetings that the chairman calls and performs other duties as needed, according to the county’s website.

The county’s Ad Hoc Committee also approved term limits – three two-year terms over a 12-year period – for the board chairman and vice chairman positions.

Pietrowski said committee members think other municipalities in the state of Illinois should follow the committee’s lead and pass something similar, such as how the county passed a fair redistricting map amendment in 2014.

“It’s got to be put in so others can prepare and take it over, and offer new and different visions, as well,” Pietrowski said.

Pietrowski said this would be his third term if he was selected as chairman Monday. He said he was the one who brought up the term limits idea because he thought it was important for something such as this to come from the leadership board.

The board is evenly split, with 12 Republicans and 12 Democrats, and that remains unchanged after the Nov. 6 midterm elections.

The organizational meeting is scheduled for 7 p.m. at the DeKalb County Legislative Center Gathertorium, 200 N. Main St., Sycamore.

Update hourly