Related topics

32 Rhodes Scholars Announced

December 7, 1998

WASHINGTON (AP) _ The 32 U.S. college students made their mark in different ways: One led the effort to discourage the waving of the Confederate flag at school sports events while another developed an expertise in science at the same time he learned to speak English.

For accomplishments such as these, the students now each share the distinction of being awarded Rhodes scholarships, which provide two or three years’ study at the Oxford University in England.

The Rhodes scholarships, oldest of the international study awards available to American students, were created in 1902 by the will of Cecil Rhodes, British philanthropist and colonial pioneer.

With the selections announced late Saturday, 2,854 American students have won Rhodes scholarships since the first selection in 1903. The 32 recipients were chosen from 909 applicants endorsed by 310 colleges and universities. Ninety-six applicants from 67 colleges and universities reached the final stage of the competition, said Elliott Gerson, American secretary of the Rhodes Scholarship Trust.

Among the winners are:

_ Samuel Calvin Thigpen, of Jackson, Miss., a senior track runner and student body president at the University of Mississippi who led a drive to discourage the waving of the Confederate flag at sports events;

_ Jose D. Vargas of Gaithersburg, Md. is a senior at Loyola College of Maryland who emigrated to this country from the Dominican Republic with his family before he entered high school. Vargas developed his deep interest in science while learning English.

The following is a list of the scholarship recipients, by district:

District I

Christopher L. Douglas, Southboro, Mass., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Cary C. Franklin, Avon, Conn., Yale University

Dena Pedynowski, Succasunna, N.J., Drew University

William R. Polkinghorn, Santa Monica, Calif., Colby College

District II

Antonio Delgado, Schenectady, N.Y., Colgate University

Jonathan Finer, Norwich, Vt., Harvard College

Siobhan K. Peiffer, Southampton, N.Y., Yale University

Erin V. Whelan, Monroe, N.Y., Iona College

District III

Jennifer L. Bumgarner, Hickory, N.C., Wake Forest University

Jeffrey D. Manns, Wynnewood, Pa., University of Virginia

Carla J. Peterman, South Orange, N.J., Howard University

Jose D. Vargas, Gaithersburg, Md., Loyola College in Maryland, a native of the Domincan Republic who developed an interest in science while learning English.

District IV

Mary Anne Franks, Pine Bluff, Ark., Loyola University New Orleans

Neil A. Hattangadi, Orlando, Fla., Duke University

Beth A. Shapiro, Lindale, Ga., University of Georgia

Samuel Calvin Thigpen, Jackson, Miss., University of Mississippi, who led a drive to discourage the waving of the Confederate flag at sports events.

District V

Erin A. Bohula, Park Forest, Ill., University of Chicago

Walter R. Cooper, Carmel, Ind., United States Military Academy

Maureen N. Dunne, Downers Grove, Ill., University of Chicago

Margaret C. Gleason, Louisville, Ky., Saint Louis University

District VI

Jennifer R. Gruber, Omaha, Neb., Boston University

Akash K. Kapur, Minneapolis, Harvard College

Mira Lutgendorf, Iowa City, Iowa, University of Chicago

Antwaun L. Smith, St. Joseph, Mo., University of Missouri

District VII

Bobak Robert Azamian, Boise, Idaho, Rice University

Sean M. Braswell, Denton, Texas, University of Texas at Austin

Manuel-Julian R. Montoya, Mora, N.M., University of New Mexico

Navin Narayan, Fort Worth, Texas, Harvard College, a cancer survivor and chairman of the National Advisory Commitee of the American Red Cross.

District VIII

Karen Y. Matsuoka, Los Angeles, Stanford University

Lisa A. Poyneer, Renton, Wash., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ryan M. Rowberry, Henderson, Nev., Brigham Young University

Alon Unger, Phoenix, Arizona State University

Update hourly