55K given out to select group of Beaver Dam High School students

May 24, 2019

The 14th annual Wilson C. and Edna P. Woods Masonic Scholarship Awards were given out on Wednesday night at Beaver Dam High School.

Seven graduating seniors received a total of $55,000 in scholarships from the fund that was established in 2006. Scholarship awards in the amount of $10,000 were received by Akshay Kalra, Marshal McGauley and Grace Scharfenberg. Two students, Andrew Boschert and Shane Lapen, received $7,500 scholarships. Theodore Vessey and Haylee Kasuboski received $5,000 scholarships.

Kevin Carnine said that the Woods established the funds to leave a lasting legacy to qualified Beaver Dam High School graduates to help them become better prepared for leadership roles in their respective future communities. In addition, they wanted to identify the scholarship with the Masons. Wilson Woods was a member of Dodge County Masonic Lodge #72. Carnine is the Lodge treasurer.

Masonic Lodge secretary Mike Roddy said he was amazed at the amount of work and the accomplishments of the group of seven students.

“Every decision you make today will impact you tomorrow,” Roddy told them during the awards ceremony.

Graduating seniors were also honored at the Beaver Dam High School Senior Awards program, where $96,000 worth of scholarships were given to 85 graduating seniors at the high school.

Beaver Dam High School will have its graduation ceremony on June. 2

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.