First-half property taxes due Feb. 15 for Summit County homeowners

January 16, 2019

First-half property taxes due Feb. 15 for Summit County homeowners

AKRON, Ohio — Summit County property owners have until Feb. 15 to pay their real estate taxes bills for the first half of 2018. 

The Summit County Fiscal Office will begin mailing the bills Friday, Jan. 18.

Property taxes are deferred for military reservists who are on active duty.

Homeowners who are eligible for the Tax Installment Program can call 330-643-2869 to apply for payment assistance by Feb. 15. 

Property tax bills can be downloaded on the Fiscal Office’s website or obtained by calling 330-643-2588.

The Fiscal Office offers five ways for taxpayers to submit payment for their bills.

Payments can be made in person at the Summit County Fiscal Office’s Treasurers Division on the 3rd floor of the Ohio Building, located at 175 South Main St. in Akron. The office is open Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m.-4 p.m.

Homeowners can also mail their payments, which must be U.S. postmarked by Feb. 15 to avoid a 10 percent late penalty.

Payments can be submitted online or by phone by visiting the online tax payment section of the Fiscal Office’s website.

Taxpayers must have their parcel number on hand to submit payments online or via phone.

Official Payments Corporation will charge a service fee for payments submitted this way. 

Taxpayers can also pay their bills at participating Regional Tax Collection System banks or at a MoneyGram location.

A list of banks will be included on all tax bills, and MoneyGram locations can be found by visiting OfficialPayments.com/locate or calling 1-800-MoneyGram.

The Fiscal Office offers programs to assist homeowners with delinquent or late tax payments. 

Call 330-643-2600 for more information.

Want more Akron news? Sign up for cleveland.com’s Rubber City Daily, an email newsletter delivered at 5:30 a.m. Monday through Friday.

Update hourly