Finalists named for Allen County judge position

October 2, 2018

A magistrate and two attorneys have been named as finalists to replace retiring Allen Superior Court Judge Stanley Levine.

The Allen Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced Monday the three finalists are:

Allen Superior Court Magistrate Jennifer DeGroote

Attorney George Sistevaris

Andrew Williams, partner, Hunt, Suedhoff, Kalamaros LLP

The names of the three nominees will be submitted to Gov. Eric Holcomb, who will name Levine’s successor.

Under state law, the commission must submit to the governor a list of three candidates with written evaluations of each candidate. After receiving the list of nominees, Holcomb has 60 days to decide. 

Levine, 80, announced in August he will step down at the end of the year, after 20 years on the bench. The person chosen to replace him will serve out the rest of his term, which ends in 2020.

Levine was the second Superior Court judge to announce his retirement this year. John Surbeck Jr. also will retire Dec. 31 after 30 years on the bench.

The nominating commission selected three candidates : defense attorney Anthony Churchward, Allen Circuit Court Magistrate Steven Godfrey and Superior Court Magistrate David Zent : to replace Surbeck.

Holcomb has not announced his choice to serve out Surbeck’s term, which also expires in 2020.

Update hourly