RAPID CITY, S.D. (AP) — The South Dakota Board of Technical Education has elected officers at its first official meeting.

The Department of Education said Tuesday that Dana Dykhouse of Sioux Falls was elected to serve as board president for a two-year term. Members chose Bob Faehn of Watertown as vice president and Terry Sabers of Mitchell as secretary.

The new board oversees South Dakota's four technical institutes. Dykhouse says the tech schools are key contributors to the state's workforce development efforts.

The panel also started the search process for an executive director to join the leadership team.