Related topics

West Indies win toss, bowl in 1st test vs. NZ

December 2, 2013

DUNEDIN, New Zealand (AP) — West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and elected to bowl in the first cricket test against New Zealand at the University Oval on Tuesday, naming controversial spinner Shane Shillingford in their match XI.

Shillingford and allrounder Marlon Samuels were reported for suspect bowling actions during the West Indies’ second test against India at Mumbai last month. Both were required to travel to Perth, Australia, and to undergo independent testing of their bowling actions before heading to New Zealand for the three-test series.

A report on the legality of both players’ actions is expected within 14 days and both are free to play in the interim.

The West Indies also named Kirk Edwards to open the batting with Kieran Powell and Shannon Gabriel to share the new ball with Tino Best.

New Zealand confirmed the team it named on Monday with Aaron Redmond batting at No.3, taking the place of Kane Williamson who has a broken thumb. Redmond last played a test against Australia in 2008.

The West Indies are coming off a 2-0 defeat at India, where they lost both tests by an innings. Prior to that they had won six tests in a row, including two at home against New Zealand.

Tuesday’s opening day marks the anniversary of Brendon McCullum’s contentious appointment as New Zealand captain. New Zealand has yet to win a test in nine matches with McCullum in charge.



New Zealand: Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Aaron Redmond, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, B.J. Watling, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner.

West Indies: Kieran Powell, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narisingh Deonarine, Darren Sammy (captain), Denesh Ramdin, Shane Shillingford, Tino Best, Shannon Gabriel.

Umpires: Nigel Llong, England, and Paul Reiffel, Australia.

Third umpire: Ian Gould, England. Match referee: Roshan Mahanama, Sri Lanka.

Update hourly