Related topics

Harvard Announces Nieman Fellows

May 11, 1994

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. (AP) _ An editor from Portland, Maine, has been named the first editor-in- residence at the Nieman Foundation, allowing him a year of study at Harvard University.

Thirteen other American journalists were named as Nieman Fellows on Tuesday, the foundation said. Several foreign journalists will be named as fellows later this month.

Louis A. Ureneck, 43, editor and vice president of The Portland Newspapers, was named the first editor-in-residence. He has said he will study the role of interpretive reporting in American journalism.

The editor-in-residence will get the same grant as the other Nieman Fellows, but Ureneck also may serve as a role model for some of the other fellows and may help out the program’s director, said Christa Kryder, a spokeswoman for the foundation. Generally the fellowships have been for reporters.

The other fellowship winners:

- Chris Bowman, 39, environmental writer at The Sacramento (Calif.) Bee, recipient of the Environmental Nieman Fellowship.

- Mark Carter, 30, San Francisco correspondent for CNN.

- Leslie Dreyfous, 30, national writer for The Associated Press.

- Peter Eng, 37, news editor at the Bangkok, Thailand, bureau of The Associated Press.

- Marilyn Geewax, 38, editorial writer and columnist at The Atlanta Constitution.

- Lisa Getter, 34, investigative reporter at The Miami Herald.

- Brad Goldstein, 32, special projects reporter at The Eagle-Tribune of Lawrence, Mass.

- Lorie Hearn, 40, legal affairs reporter, The San Diego Union-Tribune.

- Anne V. Hull, 32, reporter at the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times.

- Kathryn Kross, 33, producer for ABC’s ″Nightline.″

- Michael Riley, 35, Atlanta bureau chief for Time magazine.

- Karl Schoenberger, 40, business reporter and Asia Pacific correspondent for the Los Angeles Times.

- Janet Wilson, 35, staff writer for the Detroit Free Press.

The fellowships were established in 1938 through a bequest of Agnes Wahl Nieman in memory of her husband, Lucius Nieman, founder and publisher of The Milwaukee Journal. They are awarded to midcareer journalists ″of particular accomplishment and promise,″ the Nieman Foundation said.