Nobel laureate Gabriel Garcia Marquez was among Latin America's most popular writers and widely considered the father of a literary style known as magic realism.

A partial list of his works:


— "No One Writes to the Colonel and Other Stories," 1961

— "One Hundred Years of Solitude," 1967

— "The Autumn of the Patriarch," 1975

— "Chronicle of a Death Foretold," 1981

— "Love in the Time of Cholera," 1985

— "The General in his Labyrinth," 1989

— "Strange Pilgrims," 1992

— "Of Love and Other Demons," 1994

— "Memories of My Melancholy Whores," 2004


— "The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor," 1970

— "News of a Kidnapping," 1996


— "Living to Tell the Tale," 2002