Related topics

Australia names T20 squad to play England

January 20, 2014

SYDNEY (AP) — George Bailey has retained the captaincy of the Australian Twenty20 cricket team for its three-match series against England after being dropped from the test squad for the forthcoming series in South Africa.

Test stars David Warner, Shane Watson and Mitchell Johnson were rested and not among the 14-man squad which was announced on Monday.

Spinner James Muirhead, 20, was the surprise of the squad, included after playing only four Twenty20 matches.

Selection chairman John Inverarity said Muirhead’s performance for a Cricket Australia Invitational XI against England had clinched his selection.

Inverarity said Australia was looking at its spin bowling options for the world T20 tournament in March.

Fast bowler Mitchell Starc has also been named, despite a back injury.


Australia T20 squad: George Bailey (captain), Aaron Finch, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner, Josh Hazelwood, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, James Muirhead, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Cameron White.

Update hourly