Fischer, Ricketts cruise to victory; Dorn, Schuller in close race

November 7, 2018

Republican Gov. Pete Ricketts and Sen. Deb Fischer cruised to re-election Tuesday, toppling Democratic challengers Bob Krist and Jane Raybould of Lincoln.

And Nebraska’s three incumbent GOP congressmen hoped to paint the state fully red once again, with Reps. Jeff Fortenberry and Adrian Smith scoring early victories over Democrats Jessica McClure and Paul Theobald in the districts 1 and 3.

Raybould called Fischer Tuesday evening to concede the race, the candidate announced in a press release.

“This was a hard fought campaign,” Raybould said in the release. “And we came up a little short this time around. But even in defeat, we have left a mark. We have moved the dial for our state.”

The race between Rep. Don Bacon and Kara Eastman in Omaha-centric 2nd District remained too close to call.

However, Democrats and others who backed a statewide initiative to expand Medicaid in Nebraska still had reason for optimism. Supporters held a 44,000-vote margin over those opposed as of around 9:20 p.m.

In the District 30 seat in the Nebraska State Legislature Myron Dorn and Don Schuller were in a tight battle as of press time. In Gage County, with early votes and all Beatrice precincts counted, Dorn held on to a small lead with 2,883 votes to Don Schuller’s 2,662.

Update hourly