Related topics

Brazil hosts Spain in Davis Cup playoffs in Sept

April 9, 2014

LONDON (AP) — Brazil will host Spain and the United States will host Slovakia in the Davis Cup World Group playoffs on Sept. 12-14.

The International Tennis Federation held the draw Tuesday.

In other matchups to be played right after the U.S. Open, India hosts Serbia, Israel hosts Argentina, Canada hosts Colombia, Australia hosts Uzbekistan, the Netherlands hosts Croatia, and Ukraine hosts Belgium.

The eight winning countries in the playoffs will qualify for the World Group in 2015. The losing teams will compete in zone groups next year.

In this year’s World Group semifinals, also played Sept. 12-14, France hosts the Czech Republic and Switzerland hosts Italy.

Update hourly