Related topics

3 Mississippi appellate judges unopposed for re-election

May 12, 2018

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Three of Mississippi’s top judges are unopposed in this year’s elections.

Friday was candidates’ qualifying deadline for judicial races , with the nonpartisan elections in November.

Nobody signed up to challenge Supreme Court Justice David Ishee or Court of Appeals Judges Donna Barnes and Sean Tindell.

Three Court of Appeals judges are not seeking re-election. They are Joe Lee and Tyree Irving, who have both served since 1999; and Eugene Fair, who has served since 2012.

Five candidates are running for the seat now held by Lee. Three are running for the seat now held by Irving. And, two are running for the seat now held by Fair.

The one Supreme Court post and the five Court of Appeals posts are the only appellate positions on the ballot this year.

Update hourly