Related topics

More skiing at the Olympics...Russian lab director apologizes for doping scheme... Source: Vargas heads to Mets

February 16, 2018

PYEONGCHANG, South Korea (AP) — There’s more Alpine skiing on the Olympic schedule tonight, U.S. time. The women’s super-G starts at 9 p.m., Eastern time, without Mikaela Shiffrin. The American star originally planned to compete in five events, including the super-G, before high winds forced cancellations that compressed the schedule. Shiffrin won gold in the giant slalom but finished a disappointing fourth a day later in her signature event, the slalom.

UNDATED (AP) — An apology for Russia’s doping scheme is now ready to be issued. Not by the state which ordered the systematic cover-up but by the chemist who helped Russian athletes trick the system. Former Russian anti-doping laboratory director Grigory Rodchenkov says “I am very sorry to all the clean athletes we cheated.” His statement came in response to questions from The Associated Press sent through his lawyer.

UNDATED (AP) — A person familiar with the deal says All-Star pitcher Jason Vargas and the Mets have agreed to a $16 million, two-year contract, adding depth to a New York rotation that’s been riddled by injuries the past two seasons. Vargas went 18-11 with a 4.16 ERA for Kansas City last season, making his first All-Star team and tying for the major league lead in wins.

JUPITER, Fla. (AP) — Pitcher Bud Norris and the St. Louis Cardinals finalized a $3 million, one-year contract on Wednesday as the team started spring training workouts. The 32-year-old right-hander led the Los Angeles Angels with 19 saves in 23 chances last season. He went 2-6 with a 4.23 ERA in three starts and 57 relief appearances, striking out 74 in 62 innings.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (AP) — Seven-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson and seven others are switching to backup cars for the Daytona 500. All of the teams sustained damaged in qualifying races Thursday. The group includes Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports teammate William Byron, 2012 Cup Series champion Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Austin Dillon, Aric Almirola, Matt DiBenedetto and David Gilliland.

Update hourly