Related topics

APME names new officers, directors

October 18, 1997

ATLANTA (AP) _ The Associated Press Managing Editors association elected new officers and board members at its national conference Saturday.

The new officers are: President Reid MacCluggage, publisher and editor, The Day, New London, Conn.; Vice President Pam Johnson, executive editor/vice president-news, The Arizona Republic; Secretary Jerry Ceppos, senior vice president/executive editor, San Jose Mercury News; Treasurer Deanna Sands, managing editor, Omaha World-Herald; Journalism Studies Committee Chairman Chris Peck, editor, The Spokesman-Review, Spokane, Wash.; and Journalism Studies Committee Vice Chairman Caesar Andrews, editor, Gannett News Service.

The new board members are: Andy Chapelle, news editor, The Ann Arbor (Mich.) News; Walter Johns, assistant managing editor/administration, Houston Chronicle; Janet C. Leach, managing editor, The Cincinnati Enquirer; Eileen Lehnert, managing editor, Jackson (Mich.) Citizen Patriot; John X. Miller, managing editor, The Sun News, Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Everett J. Mitchell II, managing editor, The News Journal, Wilmington, Del.; Henry Stokes, managing editor, The Commercial Appeal, Memphis, Tenn.; and George Benge, executive editor, Journal and Courier, Lafayette, Ind.

Update hourly